Text your free ads to 086 151 0231 or email

Kilmurry Show 2012 - Show Report and Results

We have changed the gallery. Just click on small picture for a better look or a slide show - enjoy !


The Irish Flying and Fancy Pigeon Society Show Held in Co Limerick Ireland - Held Under INFPA Rules:

Show Report 2012- Nov 2012

The Irish Flying and Fancy Pigeon Society annual show took place on Saturday October 27th in the Kilmurry Lodge Hotel, Limerick. Our entries this year were the same as last year with over 500 birds on display. The entries are down on the numbers we used to get around 4 or 5 years ago but now the quality of the birds are way up because of the imports we have been bringing into the country over the last few years.

Our judges for the weekend were John Surridge and Bruce Pullen from England, John O'Brien and Richard Bunn from Ireland, Hans Schipper and Rob Joosten from Holland. A big thank you to the lads who did a real professional job on the day. We had 16 birds going up to the top table and the judges picked out top four winners on a points system like last year which is very fair to all our exhibitors.

The social side to the show is very important to us and we all had two great nights of fun in the hotel. The hotel staff were great to us as usual and the food was also top class. I would like to thank express a big thank you to my show management....Darrin Ring, Owen Fitzgerald, Kevin Kelly and Seamus Barrett. Thanks to my wife Elaine, who sorted out all entries for the show. Also a big thank you to Mary Tobin who did a great job on the raffle and also to Albert Hogan and Michael Kiely who set up the pens on the Friday. I could not have managed without all the help.

Our trophies this year were a little different, we decided to take photographs of all the winning birds and frame them. They turned out very well and we were very pleased with them. A huge to thank you to my son Owen who took all the photographs and did a great job. I would also like to thank all our exhibitors who supported the show. Another positive note was our 10 newcomers to the show scene.

Our four top prizes this year went to........ Best Flyer - Kevin Mulcair, Show Racer, Best opposite sex- Seamus Barrett, Cappuchine, Reserve Best in Show - Darren Ring, Indian Fantail, Best in Show - John Fitzgerald, Limerick Tumbler.

Finally I would like to thank the Irish National Fancy Pigeon Association for their support to the Show and most importantly supplying our Irish Championship Certs to the eligible winners. Congratulations to all the winners and looking forward to meeting up with everyone again next year.

Top Table Winners:

1 Best Coloured Racing Pigeon - Brian Cullen

2 Best Junior -King- Kevin Mulcair

3 Best Cappuchine - Seamus Barrett

4 Best Old German Owl - Trevor Brazil

5 Best Irish Flying Tumbler- Anthony Robinson

6 Best Fantail-Indian Fantail- Darrin Ring

7 Best Birmingham Roller- Martin Moloney

8 Best Silesian Pouter- Darren Carey

9 Best German Beauty Homer- Albert Hogan

10 Best AOV-Double Crested German Trumpeter - Brendan Tobin

11 Best Dutch Tumbler- Robert Bishop

12 Best Show Racer- Kevin Mulcair

13 Best Limerick Tumbler- John Fitzgerald

14 Best Lahore- Wayne Clarke

15 Best Pomeranian Pouter- Darrin Ring

16 Best Archangel- Seamus Barrett

17 Best Helmet- Brendan Tobin


John Fitzgerald.

Irish National Fancy Pigeon Association